RSS

Daily Archives: August 24, 2013

Bravo’s Soup and Sandwich Shoppe – Review


bravos logo

Yesterday morning I woke up and somehow I knew it was not going to be just an ordinary day for me. I have no clue why I woke up and was craving a sandwich. Not just any sandwich and not a sandwich where I can just go down the street to a popular sandwich shop that starts with an “S” and who knows why they closed the sandwich shops here in Elk Grove that starts with a “Q”.

Racked my brain while I was brushing my teeth and thinking where can I get this sandwich that I am craving. It’s not your typical sandwich of meats, cheese and lettuce. It’s a sandwich I used to order from a sandwich shop in the Hilltop Mall over in Richmond, CA. No longer there and I don’t remember the name of the sandwich. So the sandwich that I was out to seek for yesterday consisted of diced up chicken, walnuts, diced up celery, and the rest I didn’t remember.

Thinking I was defeated in finding “the” sandwich shop, I passed by this strip mall and out of the corner of my eye, I saw a sign “Bravo’s Sandwich”, I quickly turned into the parking lot and noticed that they had taken over a location of Heavenly Dogs. Here is my review:

Staff: Alyssa, was the gal who greeted me when I first walked in. She explained the menu to me and somehow she sensed I was looking for a certain type of sandwich and she said “was there something you’re wanting” and I said yes but I don’t know what to call it. So I explained it to her and she pointed to a sandwich but it has almonds in it. Hmmmm not quite what I wanted but hey, anything with nuts in food…is a winner to me. Somehow I got the attention of the Executive Chef: Jason Brumfield, that he walked over and was listening and I started to explain it to him. He said that he could make it and I was delighted!

Awaiting the arrival of my “craved sandwich” delighted that Jason was nice enough to attempt that craving sandwich, I looked around and saw people coming in and out. Service the whole time to every single customer was very pleasant and they were helpful. The take out sandwiches where just not wrapped and put into a plastic bag, but in a nice sturdy white gift bag with their logo on it! Very nice touch. Gentleman that was sitting on the sofa was a nice handsome cowboy. I didn’t know who he was but found out later his name is Jim Brown who is the general manager. I watched as he went from customer to customer asking them how everything was and if they needed something and he even brought plates over to a couple who decided to eat their take out there, so I thought that was very attentive of Jim to jump right on that. Lisa Brown who is also the other General Manager was also friendly and making sure customers were enjoying their food and especially my sandwich as she asked what I had Chef Jason make me. I explained it t her and she said oh, I use to eat those too a long time ago, but mine also had apples… DING! that’s what was missing out of mine…APPLES!. Lisa liked my sandwich and actually had the chef make one for her too. I told Lisa that it should be on the menu! What do you think? Think they should name that sandwich after me??? Like this review if you think she should name that sandwich after me!

bravo pic1bravo pic3

Why eat at Bravo’s:

The sandwich was very tasty and fresh. It’s not your ordinary sandwich that you go to that I mentioned before. My chicken had such great flavor! Their motto is “Farm to Fork, Harvest to Home, Access to Agriculture” Bravos is adamant in supporting the economy of our Local Farmers and Ranchers. Jim and Lisa shop the local region for their produce and natural food products. They are reducing the carbon footprint caused by transportation of products from thousands of miles away. The meats they purchase are all oven roasted on site and come from Grass-Fed-Beef and non caged eggs. The meats and egg products are free of injected steroids and hormones that later become part of the food product. The fruit and vegetables they serve are naturally grown from certified farmer’s markets and are free of pesticides and other harmful agents commonly used on produce.

Besides being economically and healthy I have to say the service was outstanding. I watched as the employees came and go, coming in, they greeted you and leaving for the day, I noticed they made a point to say goodbye to everyone and that they heard it! Jim Brown…ahhhh, I wish all managers would be like him…I heard him giving kudos to his employee’s! The business side of me always instilled that to my partners that we have to reward our employees with praise! Love the fact that you can actually go to a job that you like!

bravo pic2

Decor:
If you been to Heavenly before its the same floor plan. Bravo pit in booths towards the back and one high top table up front. Pictures on the walls are musical movies (you would understand if you know Lisa). The little cups even have their logo on it! Fresh cut flowers on every table.

Go check them out and enjoy a sandwich and soup! Let me know what you think. I’m going back today to get me another sandwich! Don’t be afraid to ask if you don’t see the sandwich you want. I’m sure if they have the ingredients I’m sure that Chef Jason would love to get creative!!!

They also have a punch card! For every $10.00 you spend you get your card punched. Once you get 10 punches the 11th meal is FREE!. I’m sure I will get to that 10th punch in no time!

Bravo’s Soup and Sandwich Shoppe 9160 East Stockton Blvd Ste 130 Elk Grove, CA 95624 phone: 916-714-1111

Hours of operation: Monday – Friday 11am to 8pm and Saturday 9am to 4pm Closed on Sundays.

Like them on Facebook! They also have a website too!

My rating will be:

Knife, Fork and Spoon=Definitely

Fork and Knife=Try it

Fork=Not the best

So my rating for Bravo’s Soup and Sandwich is a “Knife, Fork and Spoon”.

 

 

 

 20130824-152923.jpg20130824-152947.jpg

20130824-153543.jpg

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 24, 2013 in Restaurant Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

National Park Service Birthday


20130824-042831.jpg

August 25
National Park Service Birthday

Upcoming Free Days:

• September 28
National Public Lands Day

• November 9-11
Veterans Day weekend

For a list of parks click here

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 24, 2013 in Events, Freebies

 

Tags: , , ,